Discovery Island Lighthouse

In 1886 the island’s first lighthouse was built on Pandora Hill, which is the highest point on the island.

The government appointed an old man Richard Brinn to be the first lighthouse keeper. His daughter Mary Ann Croft assisted him. In fact she ended up doing most of the work. She was a widow with two children. In 1902 after her father died Mary Ann Croft was officially appointed the lighthouse keeper. She was the very first female lighthouse keeper in Canada.

In 1996, the lighthouse was de-staffed and automated.  It had been manned for 110 years. On September 3, 2004 the foghorn at the lighthouse was deactivated and removed from the station.

Today nobody lives on the island and the lighthouse buildings are deteriorating.

Discovery Island Lighthouse

 

Baby Orca breached!

The open air market on Salt Spring Island was a unique and fun experience. The arts and crafts stores in Ganges were a delight to discover. We enjoyed the fresh air, the natural scenery and the Dahl’s porpoises along the way. The ride back to Victoria was even more scenic as we boated through the channel and under the old wooden bridge between the Pender Islands. Going home the long way through the San Juans and around the bottom of San Juan Island was an excellent choice. We saw Orcas and a recently born baby orca breach out of the water! The boat is very comfortable and Dieter knows the waters like a seasoned mariner. We really appreciated having the zodiac all to ourselves and not being on any schedule. This was the best trip to Victoria ever! See you again next year for another adventure.